

## LOWER PLATTE SOUTH natural resources district

3125 Portia Street | P.O. Box 83581 • Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-3581 P: 402.476.2729 • F: 402.476.6454 | www.lpsnrd.org

## Memorandum

Date: October 25, 2024
To: Executive Subcommittee members
From: Mike Sousek, General Manager
RE: Executive Subcommittee Meeting Minutes

The Executive Subcommittee met at 12:00PM on Thursday, October 24, 2024, via the Zoom platform. Subcommittee members present included Dave Landis, Bob Andersen, Deb Eagan, Lisa Lewis and Chelsea Johnson. Other directors in attendance included Christie Lamberty and Susan Seacrest. Legal counsel for the district attended which included Corey Wasserburger and Susan Foster. NRD staff members included Dave Potter, Chris Barber and Mike Sousek.

The first item on the agenda was an update on the ongoing investigation that the Nebraska Equal Opportunity Commission (NEOC) and the federal counterpart Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) are conducting. Corey Wasserburger and Susan Foster discussed the processes that both NEOC and EEOC are navigating through. Directors were given an opportunity to ask questions. Answers from the legal team clarified present misconceptions and also answered questions from those in attendance.

Next item on agenda was an update to the executive committee on a recently filed unemployment claim. Staff gave some background information on the claim prior to moving on to the next agenda item.

Lastly, the committee took into consideration a request to modify the meeting times of board meetings moving forward. Discussion revolved around providing access to our meetings for current board members, the general public, partnering agencies, and staff. Discussion also focused on daylight hours, weather conditions, family commitments and employment status. After considerable discussion, *it was motioned by Landis, seconded by Eagan, to recommend to the board that beginning in December 2024 and moving forward, that board meetings be held at 5:30 PM on the third Wednesday of the month. Recommendation passed unanimously.* 

Meeting was adjourned at 1:20 PM

MJS

cc: Donna Reid, Corey Wasserburger, Dave Potter, Chris Barber, Christie Lamberty, Susan Seacrest